Salzburg

Salzburg - on a journey through time in the city of music

Salzburg, Austria's fourth largest city, has a lot to offer its visitors. Especially in the old town one sight follows the next, so that a single day is far from enough for an extensive voyage of discovery. The breath of bygone times can be felt everywhere. The baroque town on the northern edge of the Alps is a UNESCO World Heritage Site for good reason.

Origins of the City of Salzburg

The once powerful bishop's town looks back on a long history. Archaeological finds indicate that people had already settled in the Salzach valley in the Neolithic Age. Celts lived here around 450 BC, but were defeated and assimilated by the Romans around 15 BC. At that time Salzburg was called Iuvavum and was one of the most important cities in the Roman province of Noricum. The German name "Salzpurc" was first mentioned by St. Boniface in his biography, which he wrote around 755. In 996 Emperor Otto III granted Salzburg market, coin and toll rights, and the oldest known town charter dates back to 1287.

Mozart and the Salzburg Festival

One of Salzburg's most famous sons was Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, who was born in 1756 in Getreidegasse No. 9. Today the house is as much a museum as the Tanzmeisterhaus, Mozart's residence at Makartplatz 8, and the life and work of the Wunderkind is also omnipresent in other parts of the city. Those who want to follow in the footsteps of the musical genius will reach Mozartplatz via the Mozartsteg, with the Mozart Monument inaugurated in 1842. A memorial plaque indicates that Mozart's widow lived at Mozartplatz No. 8. Another plaque can be found at Universitätsplatz No. 18, where Mozart's sister Nannerl was at home. In honour of Mozart, Salzburg organized the International Music Festival in 1877, from which the Salzburg Festival emerged in 1920. In the meantime, the city has three festival halls, one of which bears the name "Haus für Mozart".

Salzburg for architecture lovers

With its diverse architectural styles, Salzburg's Old Town is an unparalleled architectural treasure trove. Romanesque and Gothic churches have long characterized the image of the medieval city. The hall choir of the Franziskanerkirche is considered one of the most impressive works of Southern German Gothic. The Margaret Chapel in St. Peter's Cemetery, the Chapel of St. George and the Collegiate Church of Nonnenberg date from the end of the Gothic period. Built between 1614 and 1628, Salzburg Cathedral was the first Baroque church north of the Alps. The collegiate church, one of the major works of the baroque master builder Fischer von Erlach, dates from the same period. According to his plans, the Trinity church, the Johannsspitalkirche and the Markuskirche were also built. Other architectural attractions for visitors are secular buildings such as Hohensalzburg Fortress, one of the largest medieval fortresses in Europe, the Old and New Residences, the Old University and the Festival Hall with Rock Riding School.

Shopping and nightlife

During a visit to Salzburg nobody gets bored so quickly. Children can go on a journey of discovery through the city with the city explorer folder or with the colouring book of Leo the Lion. Both brochures are available in the tourist offices, for example. If you want to enjoy Salzburg on a shopping spree, you will find it in the Getreidegasse, the most famous shopping street in Mozartstadt, and in the romantic inner courtyards and houses. Also the night life does not come too briefly in Salzburg. Traditional Irish pubs and trendy bars invite you to visit the Rudolfskai and at the corner of Anton-Neumayer-Platz and Gstättengasse one club after the other. Of course, accommodation is also provided: in the city there are numerous hotels and guesthouses of all kinds, which leave nothing to be desired.

In cooperation with:

To learn more about miodao.at, please send us an e-mail or use our contact form:

Salzburg

Salzburg - auf Zeitreise in der Stadt der Musik

Salzburg, die viertgrößte Stadt Österreichs, hat ihren Besuchern viel Interessantes zu bieten. Vor allem in der Altstadt folgt eine Sehenswürdigkeit der nächsten, sodass ein einziger Tag für eine ausgiebige Entdeckungsreise bei weitem nicht genügt. Allerorten ist der Hauch vergangener Zeiten zu spüren. Nicht ohne Grund zählt die Barockstadt am nördlichen Rand der Alpen zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Ursprünge der Stadt Salzburg

Die einst mächtige Bischofsstadt blickt auf eine lange Geschichte zurück. Archäologische Funde weisen darauf hin, dass sich bereits in der Jungsteinzeit Menschen im Tal der Salzach niedergelassen hatten. Um 450 v. Chr. leben hier Kelten, die jedoch um 15 v. Chr. von den Römern besiegt und assimiliert wurden. Zur damaligen Zeit hieß Salzburg Iuvavum und war eine der wichtigsten Städte in der römischen Provinz Noricum. Den deutschen Namen "Salzpurc" erwähnte erstmals der heilige Bonifatius in seiner Lebensbeschreibung, die er um 755 verfasste. 996 erhielt Salzburg das Markt-, Münz- und Mautrecht durch Kaiser Otto III. Das älteste bekannte Stadtrecht geht auf das Jahr 1287 zurück.

Mozart und die Salzburger Festspiele

Einer der berühmtesten Söhne Salzburgs war Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, der 1756 in der Getreidegasse Nr. 9 das Licht der Welt erblickte. Das Haus ist heute ebenso ein Museum wie das Tanzmeisterhaus, Mozarts Wohnhaus am Makartplatz 8. Auch an anderen Orten der Stadt ist das Leben und Schaffen des Wunderknaben allgegenwärtig. Wer auf den Spuren des musikalischen Genies wandeln möchte, gelangt über den Mozartsteg zum Mozartplatz, mit dem 1842 eingeweihten Mozartdenkmal. Eine Gedenktafel weist darauf hin, dass am Mozartplatz Nr. 8 die Witwe Mozarts lebte. Eine weitere Tafel findet sich am Haus Universitätsplatz Nr. 18, wo Mozarts Schwester Nannerl zuhause war. Zu Ehren Mozarts richtete Salzburg ab 1877 die Internationalen Musikfestspiele aus, aus denen im Jahr 1920 die Salzburger Festspiele entstanden. Mittlerweile verfügt die Stadt über drei Festspielhäuser, von denen eines den Namen "Haus für Mozart" trägt.

Salzburg für Architektur-Liebhaber

Mit ihren vielfältigen Baustilen ist die Salzburger Altstadt eine architektonische Schatzkammer, die ihresgleichen sucht. Lange prägten romanische und gotische Kirchen das Bild der mittelalterlichen Stadt. Als eines der beeindruckendsten Werke süddeutscher Bürgergotik gilt der Hallenchor der Franziskanerkirche. Dem Ende der Gotik entstammen die Margarethenkapelle im Petersfriedhof, die Georgskapelle und die Stiftskirche Nonnenberg. Der zwischen 1614 und 1628 erbaute Salzburger Dom war die erste Barockkirche nördlich der Alpen. Aus derselben Epoche stammt die Kollegienkirche, eines der Hauptwerke des Barockbaumeisters Fischer von Erlach, nach dessen Plänen auch die Dreifaltigkeitskirche, die Johannsspitalkirche und die Markuskirche entstanden. Weitere architektonische Besuchermagneten sind Profanbauten wie Festung Hohensalzburg, eine der größten mittelalterlichen Burganlagen Europas, die Alte und die Neue Residenz, die Alte Universität und das Festspielhaus mit Felsenreitschule.

Einkaufen und Nachtleben

Bei einem Besuch in Salzburg wird niemandem so schnell langweilig. Kindern können mit dem Folder Stadtforscher unterwegs oder mit dem Malbuch vom Löwen Leo auf Entdeckungsreise durch die Stadt gehen. Beide Broschüren gibt es beispielsweise in den Tourismus-Büros. Wer Salzburg bei einem Einkaufsbummel genießen möchte, wird in der Getreidegasse, der berühmtesten Einkaufsstraße der Mozartstadt, und in den romantischen Innenhöfen und Durchhäusern fündig. Auch das Nachtleben kommt in Salzburg nicht zu kurz. Urige Irish Pubs und trendige Bars laden am Rudolfskai zu einem Besuch ein und am Eck Anton-Neumayer-Platz und Gstättengasse reiht sich ein Club an den anderen. Natürlich ist auch für die Übernachtung gesorgt: In der Stadt finden sich zahlreiche Hotels und Pensionen aller Couleur, die keine Wünsche offenlassen.

In Kooperation mit:

Für mehr Informationen zu miodao.at senden Sie uns bitte eine E-Mail oder nutzen Sie unser Kontaktformular: